Latest News

Appointments to the Professional Standards Councils

The Professional Standards Authority is pleased to advise that Ministers have made a number of appointments and reappointments to the Professional Standards Councils. The Councils are independent statutory bodies with powers to approve and supervise occupational association professional standards schemes across Australia.

The Victorian Attorney-General has appointed current member Mr John Vines OAM as Chairperson through to 31 December 2018.

The NSW Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation has appointed Ms Caroline Lamb for a period of three years, and re-appointed Mr Andrew Lumsden for a further period of three years. 

Mr Lumsden has also been appointed as Deputy Chairperson for a term through to 31 December 2018. 

The Tasmanian Minister for Justice has re-appointed Ms Tiina-Liisa Sexton for a further three-year term. 

And the ACT Attorney-General has appointed Ms Cate Wood for a three-year term.

The new appointments arose because of the expiry of Mr Steven Finch’s interim term as NSW member and Chairperson, and Ms Jo Metcalfe’s term as ACT member. Councils acknowledged Mr Finch’s leadership and expert guidance as interim Chairperson, and Ms Metcalfe’s significant contribution over many years of service, in the delivery of robust regulation to improve professional standards and protect consumers.

Ms Roxane Marcelle-Shaw, CEO of the Professional Standards Authority, extended a warm welcome to members, and congratulated both Mr Vines and Mr Lumsden on their appointments as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson respectively. The PSA looks forward to working with Councils to protect Australian consumers by improving professional standards. 

More details on the Council’s members can be found here.